Collapse Into Now

Collapse Into Now (R.E.M.)

  • 18 Aug 14:34
  • 4 lists

Collapse into Now is the fifteenth studio album by the American alternative rock band R.E.M., released on March 7, 2011, in Europe and March 8, 2011, in North America. The album is produced by Jacknife Lee and R.E.M..

R.E.M. recorded the album in four different cities—Berlin, Germany; Nashville, Tennessee; and New Orleans, Louisiana, plus demoing at Jackpot Studios in Portland, Oregon—with breaks between to write and rewrite songs. The album features guest appearances by Patti Smith, Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Peaches, Lenny Kaye and Joel Gibb.

In comparing the record to the band's previous release, Accelerate, bassist Mike Mills has said the band "wanted this new one to be more expansive. We wanted to put more variety into it and not limit ourselves to any one type of song. There are some really slow, beautiful songs; there are some nice, mid-tempo ones; and then there are three or four rockers." He has spoken about the album's theme, saying: "It's more of a personal record than a political one. Current events do come into our mind when we write, but the themes here are more universal."

To promote the album, the band released 12 long-form music videos from directors including James...


No account? Join now here: