The Box Of Delights

The Box Of Delights (John Masefield)

  • 17 Aug 12:03
  • 3 lists

The Box of Delights is a children's fantasy novel by John Masefield. It is a sequel to The Midnight Folk, and was first published in 1935.

The central character is Kay Harker who, on returning from boarding school, finds himself mixed up in a battle to possess a magical box, which allows the owner to go small (shrink) and go swift (fly), experience magical wonders contained within the box and go into the past.

The owner of the box is an old Punch and Judy man called Cole Hawlins, whom Kay meets on a railway station. They have an instant rapport, and this leads Cole to confide that he is being chased by a man called Abner Brown and his gang. For safety, Cole entrusts the box to Kay, who then goes on to have many adventures.

There have been three adaptation of The Box of Delights by the BBC on radio.

With a script by Robert Holland and John Keir Cross, this six part production was mounted three times by the BBC in 1943, 1948, and 1955.

The fact that the BBC did remounts of this production suggests that no official recordings exist of these productions. There may be private off air recordings.

A one off drama with a new script by John Keir Cross broadcast in 1966 and remounted in...


No account? Join now here: